Sie sind hier: weserbergland-tourismus.de | Cities | Cities | Lügde

Lügde

  • Emmerauen-Strand
  • Fachwerkhaus in Lügde
  • Die Lügder Kilianskirche bei Nacht
  • Kinder und Pferde vor dem Kloster Falkenhagen
  • Koeterberg bei Lügde

Charlemagne celebrated his first Christmas at 'Villa Luihidi', the village of Lügde. This historic site became the location of one of the first churches to be built in Saxony. It was rebuilt in the 12th century and is now known as the Kilianskirche. The town has suffered from a number of major fires throughout its history, the last being in 1797. The periods of rebuilding, created the townscape we see today, with the typical houses known as Ackerbürgerhäuser.

The fortifications, defensive towers and city wall bear witness to the civic pride of past centuries. The original town layout, of which few traces now remain, is of special historical importance. Lügde boasts a rare variety of lovingly and skilfully restored half-timbered buildings. In the old town, the Heimatmuseum (local history museum) is well worth a visit.

There's also plenty for nature-lovers in Lügde: the charming hilly landscape around its ten idyllic districts offers hiking, cycling, angling, riding, golf and much more.

In recent years numerous pairs of storks have made their home in the district of Elbrinxen. From mid-July onwards, it is possible to watch the marvellous sight of the young storks making their first attempts at flying in preparation for the long migration to Africa. At the stork station, visitors can observe up to eight white stork families all year round. The area adjoins the Vogellehrpfad (bird nature trail). Guided tours are available on request.

Around Easter a whole range of events takes place in Lügde, including the traditional Osterräderlauf, where burning wooden wheels are rolled down a hillside. This event is very famous and should be visited.

Seite drucken
Schriftgröße A- A A+
NAVIGATOR